Skip to content ↓

Barham Primary School

Embedding Excellence

Barham Primary School

Embedding Excellence

Barham Curriculum

Barham Curriculum

The Curriculum at Barham Primary School

At Barham Primary School, in addition to teaching the National Curriculum, we provide our pupils with a global curriculum based on knowledge and skills that is relevant for the 21st century. These skills are critically important for future success. We believe that global learning helps pupils make sense of the increasingly complex and rapidly changing world in which they live. Our curriculum enables pupils to think critically about world issues and to develop an awareness of the impact our own actions can have on others. 

World Leaders have committed to the Sustainable Development Goals. They consist of 17 goals to achieve 3 extraordinary things by 2030: to end extreme poverty, fight inequality and injustice, and tackle climate change. 


The 17 Global Goals underpin everything Barham stands for and what we do. Therefore, Barham and our community became 'Changemakers'. We could see that each one of the school community individually and collectively could make a difference. Collectively, we embarked on a journey to understand the issues; found a voice and pledged to actively make a difference. 

These 17 Global Goals are broken down into knowledge and understanding, skills, and attitudes. They are explored through all areas of the curriculum and across the subject disciplines.

We have chosen eight core global learning themes to underpin our curriculum from the 17 Sustainable Development Goals from the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development this academic year (Please click on the tabs to find out more about our global curriculum). Each theme is broken down into knowledge and understanding, skills and attitudes. 

The eight themes' children are exposed to across all year groups are: 


  1. Quality Education (4)
  1. Good Health & Well-being (3)
  1. Clean Water & Sanitation (6)
  1. Life Below Water (14)
  1. Reduced Inequalities (10)
  1. Gender Equality (5)
  1. Climate Action (13)
  1. Peace, Justice & Strong Institutions (16)

Through these global goals we provide rich opportunities for the children to explore citizenship and real-life world issues, which at times they may have to grapple with to make sense of it. This, in turn, helps them to develop skills such as collaboration and communication, thus equipping them with the necessary skills for life in the 21st century. 

Across each year a number of high-quality core texts are used to bring the themes to life for our children and to promote a connectedness with the learning.

Our aim is to ensure that children have a range of experiences that are as wide as possible during their time at school. We endeavour to teach to the highest standards in ways that match each child’s own aptitude and ability. That means offering a curriculum that is broad, balanced and right for each child. Children are taught using a variety of methods, which include whole class teaching, group work and individual work. Teachers choose the most appropriate method depending on the nature of the subject and the needs of the children.

Children’s personal qualities are equally important and we aim to help children to develop a sense of consideration and self-confidence so that they value themselves and their abilities and make a full contribution to the life of the school and prepare for adulthood.

All classes from Year 1 to Year 6 follow the National Curriculum which includes the subjects of English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, Geography, History, Music, Art, Physical Education and Religious Education (Please see our subjects page for more information, including our PSHE/RHE curriculum)

*More information about the Primary National Curriculum can be found on the Department for Education website.

Classes in our Nursery and Reception settings are in the Early Years Foundation Stage. They follow the Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework which covers the 7 areas of learning and development where children are mostly taught through games and play (Please see our EYFS for more information)

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • physical development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

These areas are broken down into Early Years Outcomes which lead on to the Early Learning Goals and are taught mainly in units and sometimes as part of a cross-curricular topic. 

*More information on the EYFS Statutory Framework can be found in the link below:

What do we want our pupils at Barham to leave with:

  • Adaptable so they can adjust to the changing world
  • Developed self believe so they are not afraid to question and voice their views
  • Have the resilience to stand up for their rights
  • Reading and writing with confidence, fluency and understanding, using a range of independent strategies to self-monitor and correct
  • With a love of reading and a desire to read for enjoyment
  • With a passion for words and their meanings; developing a growing vocabulary in spoken and written forms
  • Understanding a range of text types, media types and genres;
  • Able to write in a variety of styles and forms appropriate to the situation
  • Using their developing imagination, inventiveness and critical awareness
  • Having a suitable technical vocabulary to articulate their responses

Parents, carers and members of the public, are welcome to contact the school office, to find out more about the Barham Curriculum.  See contact details below.
Email: or call Tel: 020 8902 3706.